What is Time off in Lieu (TOIL)
Time off in lieu, also known as compensatory time off or "comp time", enables companies to compensate employees for working beyond their contracted hours by awarding extra leave.
Employees awarded TOIL receive an increase in their allowance, allowing them to request that time as leave.
This article explains how to set up and use TOIL in Leave Dates.
Enable Overtime / TOIL for your company
Admin users can enable TOIL in the Settings > Overtime page.
Select the dropdown to choose the allowance that TOIL requests should increase.
If you prefer TOIL to be kept separate from the existing allowances, go to the Settings > Allowances page to create a new allowance for TOIL and then return to this step.
Once TOIL is enabled, two options are displayed:
Display TOIL on the wall chart
Turn this option on to display earned TOIL on the wall chart.
This can be helpful in cases where overtime is planned in the future, giving staff a visual display of who will be working overtime on which dates.
When this option is enabled, a link appears to configure how TOIL is shown in the wall chart:
1. Title - How TOIL is referred to in your organisation.2. Display Colour - The colour of the bar shown on the Wall Chart / My Year page.
3. Options - Show the amount and reason publically to all users.
The following people will always see the amount and reason (even when this option is off):
- Admin users
- Approvers of the person who earned the TOIL
- The person who earned the TOIL
Allow employees to submit time off in lieu requests
With this option enabled, employees can request TOIL for themselves.
The table below shows the permissions for each role based on this setting.
|Users can request TOIL for themselves. Requests will be sent for approval.
|Approvers can request for their team. Requests will be automatically approved.
|Admins can request for everyone. Requests will be sent for approval.
|Users cannot request TOIL.
Disable overtime / TOIL
If TOIL was previously enabled for your organisation and it becomes disabled (in the Settings > Overtime page), the admin will receive a warning:
Accepting this will result in all users being unable to request TOIL, and any existing TOIL entered for this year to be deleted. TOIL entered for previous years will remain to avoid changing historic allowances.
For further reading on the advantages and disadvantages of offering time off in lieu.